Straus releases 98 pledges, more coming in; Farrar, Taylor on board, Dunnam MIA
Fri June 5, 2009 5:29 pm

The list that was released this afternoon consisted of 50 Democrats and 48 Republicans. That means that 24 D’s and 28 R’s did not sign on with Straus. Some more pledges have been released. These include 5 R’s and 3 D’s. The updated total is now 53 R’s and 53 D’s.

A cautionary note. These days, pledges are not negotiable tender. After the 2007 rebellion against Craddick, his stack of pledge cards wasn’t worth the paper the names were written on. The new rule is that pledges mean nothing if circumstances change. Circumstances changed when Craddick brought in Terry Keel and Ron Wilson to justify his claim to absolute authority. For now, Straus is in great shape, but pledges are indicative of quantity of support, not quality of support. How loyal are the Republicans? How angry are the disaffected Democrats? What will Straus do in the 2010 elections? Can the Democrats trust him to oversee redistricting? The answers to these and similar questions are a lot more important than the number of pledges.

Roberto Alonzo
Carol Alvarado
Rafael Anchia
Jimmie Don Aycock
Dwayne Bohac
Valinda Bolton
Dennis Bonnen
Dan Branch
Angie Chen Button
Joaquin Castro
Norma Chavez
Ellen Cohen
Garnet Coleman
Byron Cook
Frank Corte, Jr.
Brandon Creighton
Drew Darby
John Davis
Joseph “Joe” Deshotel
Dawnna Dukes
Joe Driver
Craig Eiland
Rob Eissler
Gary Elkins
Kirk England
Jessica Farrar
David Farabee
Stephen Frost
Pete Gallego
Charlie Geren
Veronica Gonzales
Ryan Guillen
Roland Gutierrez
Mike “Tuffy” Hamilton
Richard “Rick” Hardcastle
Patricia Harless
Linda Harper-Brown
Ana Hernandez
Abel Herrero
Scott Hochberg
Mark Homer
Chuck Hopson
Donna Howard
Bryan Hughes
Todd Hunter
Carl Isett
Jim Jackson
Delwin Jones
James “Jim” Keffer
Carol Kent
Tracy King
Tim Kleinschmidt
Lois Kolkhorst
Edmund Kuempel
Jodie Laubenberg
Ken Legler
Eddie Lucio III
Jerry Madden
Marisa Marquez
Armando “Mando” Martinez
Brian McCall
Ruth JonesMcClendon
Jim McReynolds
Jose Menendez
Thomas “Tommy”Merritt
Robert Miklos
Doug Miller
Sid Miller
Joseph Moody
Rene Oliveira
Rob Orr
Solomon Ortiz, Jr.
John Otto
Tan Parker
Diane Patrick
Ken Paxton
Aaron Pena
Larry Phillips
Joseph “Joe” Pickett
Paula Pierson
Jim Pitts
Chente Quintanilla
Richard Pena Raymond
Allan Ritter
Eddie Rodriguez
Patrick Rose
Ralph Sheffield
Mark Shelton
Todd Smith
John Smithee
Burt Solomons
Mark Strama
Joe Straus
David Swinford
Larry Taylor
Kristi Thibaut
Senfronia Thompson
Yvonne Gonzalez Toureilles
Vicki Truitt
Chris Turner
Allen Vaught
Marc Veasey
Michael “Mike” Villarreal
Randy Weber
Tara Rios Ybarra
John Zerwas

Here is the list of 28 Republicans who have not signed. Taylor’s name is the most significant omission from the original list, but my information is that he and others have now signed on. I will update the main list.

Doc Anderson
Leo Berman
Betty Brown
Fred Brown
Bill Callegari
Warren Chisum
Wayne Christian
Joe Crabb
Tom Craddick
Myra Crownover
Joe Driver (pledged)
Dan Gattis
Kelly Hancock
Patricia Harless (pledged)
Will Hartnett
Harvey Hildebran
Charlie Howard
Phil King
Susan King
Ken Legler
Tryon Lewis
Sid Miller (pledged)
Geanie Morrison
Debbie Riddle
Wayne Smith
John Smithee (pledged)
Larry Taylor (pledged)
Beverly Woolley

And the 24 Democratic holdouts–that’s probably too strong a word, because some of these will be on the updated list,

Alma Allen
Lon Burnam (no surprise)
Yvonne Davis (ditto)
Jim Dunnam (no comment)
Harold Dutton (no surprise)
Al Edwards
David Farabee (pledged)
Joe Farias
Jessica Farrar (pledged)
Kino Flores
Helen Giddings
Joe Heflin (I’m surprised)
Terri Hodge
Donna Howard (pledged)
David Leibowitz
Diana Maldonado
Barbara Mallory Caraway
Trey Martinez Fischer (not a shocker)
Elliott Naishtat
Dora Olivo
Sylvester Turner (a loss for Turner and Straus)
Hubert Vo
Armando Walle

More Texas Monthly

Loading, please wait...