Taylor elected chairman of Republican caucus
Wed February 18, 2009 10:45 pm

Other officers:

Geanie Morrison, vice-chairman
Linda Harper-Brown, secretary
Tan Parker, treasurer

Larry Taylor is a solid upper-tier member. Morrison was a Craddick rubber stamp as Higher Ed chair. Harper-Brown is very fortunate to be here. Tan Parker hasn’t set the world on fire.

So here is my question: Do the rank-and-file Republicans have any clue that the world is changing around them? Apparently not. Except for Taylor, their leaders (and caucus leaders are not very high on the leadership totem poll) are still stuck in 2003.

Here’s another question: Were these competitive races? Did Taylor, Morrison, Harper-Brown, and Parker have opposition? (The release says Taylor was elected unanimously.) Did anybody step forward to say that maybe the party should go in a different direction? Probably not. All those people are busy running the House.

More Texas Monthly

Loading, please wait...