Jason Cohen

Senior editor Jason Cohen has written for Texas Monthly since 1995 (and texasmonthly.com since its very first iteration). His 1997 story “The Ice Bats Cometh,” about minor league hockey in Texas, was the basis of his book Zamboni Rodeo (Greystone Press, 2001). He also penned the magazine’s first-ever Matthew McConaughey story, in August 1996. The co-author of Generation Ecch! (Fireside Books, 1994) and co-editor of SXSW Scrapbook (Essex/University of Texas Press, 2011), he has also written for such publications as Rolling Stone, SPIN, Details, the Austin Chronicle, the Austin American-Statesman, Portland Monthly, and Cincinnati magazine. His 1995 Rolling Stone cover story on the band Hole prompted Courtney Love to yell at him from the stage at Lollapalooza in Austin, while his 2007 profile of the Portland strip club Mary’s won a Sex-Positive Journalism Award. As one of the two primary writers for the TM Daily Post, Cohen wrote approximately 500 stories for Texas Monthly in 2012. He has been a blogger since 2002 and been known to maintain as many as five Twitter accounts.


The Dallas Cowboys as the Oakland Raiders

Cedric Golden of the Austin American-Statesman wonders when Jerry Jones will “will trade in his designer suits for a set of silver-and-blue warm-ups,” a la former Raiders owner Al Davis.

VIDEO: That Time There Was a One-Point Safety in a UT-A&M Game

How rare was last night’s one-point safety by Oregon against Kansas State? It’s only happened once before in NCAA history: when UT did it against A&M eight years ago. 

Six Thoughts About the Cotton Bowl

Kansas St. and Oregon who? Arlington’s the center of our college football universe, as Texas A&M plays Oklahoma in the Cotton Bowl on Friday. 

VIDEO: Johnny Football's Latest Unbelievable Performance

It may not be as high-stakes as the Alabama game or Cotton Bowl, but Johnny Manziel’s video with basketball trick shot specialists Dude Perfect is still jaw-dropping. 

Ranking the Texas Bowl Games So Far

Teams from Texasall former members of the Southwest Conference—went 5-1 in the pre-New Year’s college football bowls. 

Are the Houston Texans Doomed?

The Texans’ month-long dive from top team in the AFC to number three seed with no bye week has fans and sports scribes talking like the franchise didn’t even make the playoffs.