Fifty-two of the seventy-six House Republicans signed a document prepared by the Republican Party of Texas (a link is on the Quorum Report) pledging to insist on the inclusion of four core principles in a Voter I.D. bill. These principles are: 1. Ensure a valid photo identification is needed to vote 2. Take effect at the next possible uniform election date 3. Be free of any registration requirements such as same day voter registration that dilutes the intent of the bill, which is ensuring fair and accurate elections. 4. Increase criminal penalties for voter fraud and registration This list makes any compromise extremely unlikely, not that there was much reason to hope for one, and all but ensures that Voter I.D. will be as acrimonious in the House as it was in the Senate. Here is the list of Republicans who had not signed as of yesterday. I have updated the list to include members who have signed since I posted this list. Thanks to the RPT’s Eric Opiela for the update. It is believed that Corte has likewise signed, but this is unofficial. Bohac (signed) Bonnen Branch Cook Corte Darby Eissler (signed) Hamilton Hardcastle Hilderbran (signed) Howard Jones Keffer S King (signed) Kolkhorst Kuempel McCall Merritt S Miller Patrick Paxton (signed) T Smith Smithee Straus